Find
Notify
Tools

10 Ga question.
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of PoppaW
posted
I am new to big shotguns for ducks and geese. I was looking at 3.5 inch 12 ga and 10 ga guns. I was told they are very similar on geese as the amount of shot is the same etc. If this is correct how long until we get a longer 10 ga shell? Can there be a semi auto 10ga 4inch? Is gun weight a problem now for the 3.5 or is recoil the limiting factor?

WOODY
Everyone is allowed an opinion, even if its wrong.

Posts: 419 | Location: Alberta, Canada | Registered: 10 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of RandyWakeman
posted Hide Post
The 10 ga. is obsolete, effectively dead from a sales standpoint-- and there isn't much call for punt guns.

http://www.chuckhawks.com/10_gauge_obsolete.htm

Posts: 375 | Location: Plainfield, IL | Registered: 11 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Hog Killer
posted Hide Post
You will get better shot strings with a 10ga than you will be from any 3.5" 12ga with the same shot load. Too bad the 8ga was outlawed, as it carried the same 2 1/4 oz load as the above and would be much easier on the shoulder because of the increase in gun weight.

Keith

IGNORE YOUR RIGHTS AND THEY'LL GO AWAY!!!
------------------------------------
We Band of Bubbas & STC Hunting Club, The Whomper Club

Posts: 4553 | Location: Walker Co.,Texas | Registered: 05 September 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of RandyWakeman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Hog Killer:
You will get better shot strings with a 10ga than you will be from any 3.5" 12ga with the same shot load.

Sorry, Hogkiller-- that is hogwash.

Posts: 375 | Location: Plainfield, IL | Registered: 11 March 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Everybody has there own thing, My SP 10 is better on Geese . For ducks its too heavy to swing at ducks so 3" or 3.5 " is and will be better. I use 3" on sea Ducks with good results.