THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM SHOTSHELL RELOADING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Shotshell Reloading    New to Shotshell reloading, A couple of Newbie Queastions
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to Shotshell reloading, A couple of Newbie Queastions
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Collins
posted
Hi All, I've been reloading for a couple of years now and I'm very hooked. 9mm to .223 to 50 BMG all lotsa fun and no KB's yet. But I've been shooting a lot of trap recently and picked up a MEC 9000.
Question 1: I have a bunch of RIO hulls (they break clay just fine) What are the "Properties" of a reloadable hull? The headstamp on these are "12 * 12 * 12 * 12 *" where * is a star. I cannot find ANY info on starline hulls but that's my first guess.
Question 2: the primer is quite loose in several of these (even factory fired) did I do something wrong are 209 primers different sizes? what's the "Deal?"
Question 3: I'm using Unique powder and it's filthy. Unburnt powder everywhere. ???

Well guys that's about it for now. If there's a good book on this let me know I'm willing to spend some reading time to keep all that shot off the basement floor.

Many thanks in advance
Collins

Collins
Airgunner / 458 SOCOMer/ 45-70er / 458 Lotter

www.actionairgun.com LIVE NOW

Posts: 2327 | Location: The Sunny South! St. Augustine, FL | Registered: 29 May 2004Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
The RIO cases are thought by many to be marginally reloadable as they don't last long, or at least not as long as Remingtons, Winchesters, and others. The mouths split. If I remember correctly they have a separate basewad, there is also worry that the basewads come loose.