ACCURATERELOADING.COM BLACK POWDER FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Other Topics  Hop To Forums  Black Powder    Can substitutes be used in a FlintLock?

Moderators: Saeed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Can substitutes be used in a FlintLock?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am new to the BP thing. I have a Lyman Deer Stalker in 50 and was wondering if Sub powders can be used? Which ones are best?

One of Us
Picture of boondocker
posted Hide Post
Hi Ezra
I general conclusion for flinters is use the real black powder.Everyone that I know including myself that has tried the subs has switched back to black as it is not worth the aggrevation trying to light the fire. Subs have a higher flash point. Some precharge the charge with a little black to light it up, use mighty"s well use the good stuff. Well that is my take ,others may vary. Best Boon cheers

Ecclesiastes 10:2 (NIV)

“The heart of the wise inclines to the right,
but the heart of the fool to the left.”

When the SHTF he with the most lead will retain the most gold!

Posts: 647 | Location: Pa | Registered: 05 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Not sure about what you'd use in the flashpan.But in the barrel,yes just use some caution,pryodex an thriple 7 produces more pressure than ol' black.I've read that Thompson Center makes a flinter set up to use 150 grain charge.

Posts: 42 | Location: Mississippi | Registered: 23 June 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If it isn't one of the TC's with the new breech stay away from the stuff,,use real black and you will be happy.. Every one I know who has tried it ,including myself ends up using a couple of grains of black underneath the pryo load to get it to ignite,just not worth it.

Stay Alert,Stay Alive
Niet geschoten is altijd mis

Hate of America is the defeat position of failed individuals and the failing state