New
Find
Notify
Tools

Black Powder makes?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Any experience using Goex, Goex Express, KiK,and Swiss as to which is the cleanest, most consistent, and most accurate in flintlocks?

Posts: 403 | Location: Hurricane Central, FL | Registered: 11 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've been using standard FFg Goex powder for several years and FWIW I didn't notice if it was any cleaner than my previous powder (Elephant powder), but it did burn hotter/faster. The impact was nearly the same, but ignition was superior with Goex.

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then is not an act, but a habit"--Aristotle (384BC-322BC)

Posts: 749 | Location: Central Montana | Registered: 17 October 2005Reply With Quote
Picture of Sean Murphy
posted Hide Post
Over here in South Africa we only get Wano and Swiss. Wano from what I hear is similar to Goex and the swiss is superior to this. Fouling is much lighter and burning rate is about 10% hotter/faster over the chrony.

Sean.

Those who live by the sword shall surely be shot by those of us who don't.

Posts: 18 | Location: Johannesburg, South Africa. | Registered: 17 June 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
All the currently available black powders (Kik, Goex, Elephant, Wano, etc.) are fairly similar. Swiss is the exception as well as the most expensive. It burns cleaner, and as Sean said, develops more energy. Swiss is the black powder used by almost every serious BPCR and long range competetion shooter. Since Swiss is the best quality BP currently available I would guess it's also the best choice for a flintlock, or any firearm using black powder.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I am leaning toward the Swiss. Should it be selected F for F?

Posts: 403 | Location: Hurricane Central, FL | Registered: 11 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Tanker: