Find
Notify
Tools

What accuracy can I expect?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of cowboy77845
posted
Picked up a Ruger #1B in 280. Does anyone have any experience with the accuracy of this round in this rifle. I notice that some manufactuers say they expect larger groups from the 280. thanx.

Posts: 375 | Location: College Station, Tx | Registered: 11 February 2005Reply With Quote
<eldeguello>
posted
My No. 1B in 7mm Rem. Mag. will shoot into 1" @ 200 yards, and I would expect the .280 in the same gun to do as well!! But I am talking handloads here, and have no idea how accurate the AVERAGE factory .280 load is. There are probably some which do quite well, but this varies, even from lot to lot of the exact same brand & bullet weight!! You must do some test shooting!!

one of us
Picture of cowboy77845
posted Hide Post
Thanx for the reply. I was expecting more shooters to respond. I have no experience with the #1. I have 5 boxes of various factory loads. A 6xby42 Leupold should be installed by tomorrow and if and when it stops raining , I will see. I got a portable shooting bench and just need it to dry up so I can get to my place.

Posts: 375 | Location: College Station, Tx | Registered: 11 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
.5"-2.5", newer production alledged to shoot better than old due to Ruger making their own barrels. #1's often need help to achieve their potential. Have a competant 'smith tune or replace your trigger, float the barrel, and you will be a leg up on accuracy. Handloading helps as well. I think all #1's are capable of consistant accuracy in the .5-.75" range but have not had one do that out of the box.