New
Find
Notify
Tools

#1 45/70, need help
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have a Ruger #1 in 45/70, I have been shooting it for 3 years now, but mainly with 300gr JHPs. When my wife first bought it for me, it shot a foot low at 100 yds, I bought and installed the New England Custom Guns(NECG) peep sight, this was after a call to Ruger, and they sent me the shortest front sihjt, and the tallest rear, still shot 6" low, NECG brought the impact, and aim point together. Now I really want to hunt with this rifle, but with bullets heavier than 400 grains, it shoots low, about 2" or so. I don't really want to scope it, but I am out of ideas, I am casting 525gr roundnosed bullets for it that group very well, they just shoot really low, even when I am pushing them at 1900fps. The accuracy with this bullet really drops off, I think it is really a Black Powder design, and doesn't like those pressures. I need help, I am hoping a gunsmith doesn't have to get involved.

Posts: 148 | Location: Currently located in Southern New Mexico | Registered: 26 September 2002Reply With Quote
<Taildraggin>
posted
You might have to pick your bullet and stick with it. A range of 300-525grs is pretty big to regulate. Though, you might be able to do it with different front sights (they pop in easily on the No.1A and 1S).

The NECG peep is pretty tall (see my later question). If you have the peep cranked up, the best solution is a lower front sight. Have you measured the short Ruger front sight to see if have the lowest available? NECG has a couple low ones. (Their white bead is wonderful with the peep, if you can get it to regulate!). BTW: the sights are measured from the base-bottom to top, not top of dovetail.

one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
I have two 45-70s one is a bolt gun and the other is a Winchester 1886. Both shoot pretty much to where they are aimed.