THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Gunsmithing    Guns that have been disappointing and some that have not.

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Guns that have been disappointing and some that have not.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Before I begin with my rant, let me tell you about myself. I learned how to shooting with Diana .177 air rifle when I was six (6), shooting at rats near our chicken koop. I am now sixty five (65) years old and have been hunting and shooting off and on. I am a passable shot, having earned the patch twice at the Appleseed events with a bolt action rifle. So I have some experience with guns and their use, I am not a gunsmith, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn.

Without further a due, here are some bad experiences with guns:
1-Browning Micro Buck Mark in .22 rimfire, brand new it had a light firing pin strike. Sent for warranty repairs the problem was fixed. Later on after some thousands of rounds through it a nylon buffer wore out. I bought new ones on and replaced it. Every once in a while it fails to feed or stove pipes a round. But I like it since it’s very accurate and fits the hand well with new grips. Don’t like the ones the gun came with.
2-Merkel 1620 SxS in 16 gauge, brand new the left barrel’s trigger got progressively lighter, until it fired itself under recoil. Sent in for warranty repair. The trigger was fixed. I like this shotgun a lot (it’s almost perfect) has become my replacement for the Magic Wand (see below).
3-CZ 550FS bolt action in 9.3x62, bought used in almost new condition some time ago. Have fired a few hundred rounds through it. Has the lousy “C” clip holding the firing pin nut, naturally it failed. Contacted CZ they say will send new firing pin assembly. Will wait and see results.