New
Find
Notify
Tools

Convert 7mm Rem Mag to 338-06?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
What, if any, problems would I run into having a 7 mag rebarrelled into a 338-06? Bolt face, feed rails, anything?

I'll trust a gunsmith (probably Shilen, since he's just down the road) to do the rebarrel, but I wanted to see if this is do-able or not before I bothered him.

Oh, and since this is a Savage action (a 1960's J action) would it be possible just to get a switch barrel from SharpShooter or someone (that is, if the 'guts' were the same)and do it myself, using headspace gauges of course?

Posts: 470 | Location: Mountains of Southern New Mexico | Registered: 24 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
Your best bet is to go with the .338 Win Mag. Your bolt face is too big for the -06 based cartridge.

Posts: 4863 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Why the 338-06? I'm no expert but I think a 7rem mag to 338 win mag would take less work. As far as I can tell the 7mm rem mag and the 338 win mag are built off the same case.

Jamie

Posts: 109 | Location: Washington | Registered: 18 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
PD-

Unless you're dead set on doing it, I see two much more workable options...

Build a 338 Win Mag on your magnum action, or trade your action for a 30-06/270/280/etc action and build the 338-06.

Just WAY too much time, effort, and money that you'll need to spend to make your action work with the 338-06.

BTW, I *do* like your choice of calibers. I was shooting mine just a few days ago. It's just that it's not gonna work on your present action...

one of us
posted Hide Post
I am not that familiar with Savages, however, you will have to change the bolt and the side rails or cartridge containment system on your rifle to accommodate the smaller 06 case.