THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Just curious - why a P-14 for a custom rifle?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm just curious - I have no knowledge of P-14 and 1917 rifles. Why would you choose one for a custom rifle? Especially a magnum, such as .458 Win Mag or Lott? Are they strong actions? Smooth? Are they CRF like a mauser?

Thanks for any help,

Scott

Posts: 52 | Location: Georgia | Registered: 06 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of vapodog
posted Hide Post
Yes for starters they are controlled round feed actions. At least the P-17 rifles are extremely strong and can handle anything you can feed thru them....I don't include the Eddystones in this statement however.

Mine, a .375 H&H is converted to cock on opening, three position safety, four round magazine, Fiddleback stock and some fine checkering....

There's a lot of work to convert one to a fine DG sporter.....it's doubtful if it's worth the effort.

I'll try to post some photos.

Posts: 28849 | Location: western Nebraska | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of vapodog
posted Hide Post

Posts: 28849 | Location: western Nebraska | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
P14 was for .303 Brit has wider bolt face than P17 which was for '06 is therefor sometimes preferred for belted mags. However vast amt of gunsmithing required and availability of good factory mag rifles has undermined need for 17 and 14 conversions. Heyday was 1950s when they were $7.50 from DCM and every gunsmith knew how to work on them, those old timers are few and far between now. Agree that Eddystones are to be avoided, heat treatment was erratic.

Posts: 1233 | Registered: 25 November 2002Reply With Quote

Picture of Mark
posted Hide Post
Other than the labor involved they are a great gun, able to take pretty huge cartridges and also strong enough to hold everything together.