THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Voere - Is this a Santa Barbara '98 action?
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
???

Posts: 718 | Location: Utah | Registered: 14 September 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Nakihunter
posted Hide Post
I would say that was a barrel taken from a Voere and put on to another action. I had a 1950s Voere 7X64 built on a Mod 98 action which had good workmanship, modern twin set trigger with tang shotgun safety, and claw mounts.

All modern Voeres are built on their own actions with 3 lug push feed bolt.

"When the wind stops....start rowing. When the wind starts, get the sail up quick."

Posts: 11253 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 02 July 2008Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
It sure looks like a Santa Barbara action to me.
I have no experience with Voere. The triggers on SB actions come all the way out under the tang as in that picture and it looks like a case hardened casting which I think SB's are.
At least the one I have fits that description.
I hope this helps.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
No, this guess is incorrect. This is a 60's - 70's era rifle with a windsor style stock in 7mm Rem Mag. The pairing is definitely as came from the factory.

quote:
Originally posted by Nakihunter:
I would say that was a barrel taken from a Voere and put on to another action.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for your reply. I've never seen a SB 98 before and had hoped my Austrian gun with C-ring had a quality action. I'll just flip this one to one of the local elk hunters.

Live n' learn I guess.

quote:
Originally posted by jpex:
It sure looks like a Santa Barbara action to me.
I have no experience with Voere. The triggers on SB actions come all the way out under the tang as in that picture and it looks like a case hardened casting which I think SB's are.
At least the one I have fits that description.
I hope this helps.

One of Us
posted Hide Post