New
Find
Notify
Tools

Outers "Foul-Out System" and Barrel cleaning
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Can anybody tell me about this system? What do or don't you like about it? Does it work? What does it do to a gun barrel? What voltage does it use? How long can you leave it in a barrel? Need input! Godsdog.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Quote:

Can anybody tell me about this system? What do or don't you like about it? Does it work? What does it do to a gun barrel? What voltage does it use? How long can you leave it in a barrel? Need input! Godsdog.

I've been using it for over three years. Once I followed directions using correct degreaser works great. Hate to go back to wearing barrels out with brushing.

Usually removes all copper fouling in about 20 minutes. Severely fouled barrels may take 2-3 cycles. Quick, easy and no mess.

Posts: 472 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 08 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I use Wipe-Out for routine cleaning, but have been salvaging "shot out" barrels with the Outers system for almost ten years. The latest version works fast.
JCN

Posts: 7158 | Location: Snake River | Registered: 02 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Zero Drift
posted Hide Post

Using Sweets, CR-10, or Montana X-Treme will get the job done safely with no scrubbing. Forget electrolysis for cleaning. If something goes wrong, you will ruin your bore.

Posts: 10780 | Location: Test Tube | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Matt Norman
posted Hide Post
I've had good experiences with the later version Foul-Out II (or III?) that I use. As previously mentioned, FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS. Degreasing is important. I've heard mumblings that it will "frost" barrels, but it has worked fine for me on the 12-14 barrels I've used it on.