New
Find
Notify
Tools

Savage stock problem
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am new to Savages and was under the impression all the actions were the same. I just attempted to put a synthetic stock from a FV model on an action that was orginally a .243 110E - the hole spacing is different. What factory synthetic stock will fit my 110E? I am frustrated - and out the price of a stock. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.

Posts: 376 | Location: Farmington, NM - USA | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Russell E. Taylor
posted Hide Post
Yup, you're new to Savages, all right.

It's not the "FV" or "E" parts you need to concern yourself with... it's the series number. You listed "110E" and "FV." You are comparing apples to oranges.

You likely bought a "10" series "FV" stock and you're trying to put it on a "110" series "E" gun. It won't work. All triple-digit Savage bolt-action rifles (e.g., 110, 111, 112, 116) are LONG-action rifles. All double-digit Savage bolt-action rifles (e.g., 10, 11, 12, 16) are SHORT-action rifles.

Shop for a "long-action" ("LA") Savage stock.

Russ

[ 07-16-2002, 06:42: Message edited by: Russell E. Taylor ]

Posts: 2982 | Location: Silvis, IL | Registered: 12 May 2001Reply With Quote
<Lefty223>
posted
Well, nowadays Savage makes a long action (depicted by a 3-digit model number like "110") and a true short action for calibers up to 308 class/size (model number of 2 digits, like "12").

In the waaaaay past they actually had a long and a somewhat 3/4-long action (wasn't a true short action size), but I digress. I'd bet you unknowingly purchased a short action stock for your long action (designated by the 110 model number) even though the 243 is a normally "short action" cartridge.