New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Smiths- How did you start?
 Login/Join

Picture of Paul H
posted
An interesting thread, and some wonderful input.

I'm not a professional smith, just a hobbiest who had dreams of opening his own shop. I'm an engineer by training and practice, and have realized after 12 years in a few different industries that it is a better gig than running a shop, partly because I have enough experience to commend a salary that I'd be hard pressed to match with my own shop.

You never mentioned what you wanted to specialize in, and maybe you don't know. What has interested me the most has been custom bolt rifles, and paticularly the metal work. From that standpoint I'd say that the reason the majority of gunsmiths are poor, and many p/o customers by missing promised deliveries is they never master running a profitable shop. By all means the best place to learn would be a small manual job shop that has to make money making short runs of a variety of parts. You will learn how to spend more time actually producing parts as opposed to setting up machines. You'll also learn how to flow work from one step to another as opposed to scurrying around the shop trying to find a jig or fixture, tearing down one machine for a special setup, etc.

With those skills learned, and a zeal for building guns, you'll be well set. There aren't that many top shops in the country because not that many people have both the technical and business skills the pull it off. Some "top shops" don't even have the technical skills, but have done a great job promoting themselves and developing a name for themselves.

My advice would be to find a decent day job and set up a part time shop for smithing your own projects, then start taking on others work. I still may go that route as a retirement gig, but just don't have the free time at this point.

Posts: 7213 | Location: Alaska | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post