New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ruger 77 mark 1 Magazine box Lip- HELP?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I took my ruger 77 mark 1 Tang safety 220 swift rifle apart today and cleaned and oiled the barrel underside up & checked for rust,it needed a good wipeing down,,,well i forgot how to put the magazine box back in? It has a little lip on the front small end and the only way i could get it all together is to put the lip on top into the feed ramp,is this correct?
I didnt see any other way it will fit?
I dont have another Mark 1 77 tang safety to compare it too....& this is my first time takeing a ruger 77 outta the stock!
I checked it and it feeds fine,i did notice my mark2 77 rifles do not have a lip on them feeding into the feed ramp...is this some older style of Ruger boxs?
Also the rifle has allways hung up if i load 5 rounds,the other 4 stay down,if i just load 4 down they all feed fine,any ideas on what to do to fix this minor problem besides just load 4 rounds?
Also my trigger is not the best/to much creep,which brand is the best to buy for a older ruger tang safety 77 rifle??Thanks for any help patriot
I got to get this baby"EMMYLOU" shooting,shes a sweetie!

Posts: 3608 | Location: USA | Registered: 08 September 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post

One of Us
posted Hide Post
BBH,
I have a bunch of Mk I's. Pull your magazine box out. At one end there is a welded on strip, or in a few cases a seam. That goes to the rear (toward the trigger). There are two notches on the bottom side. The wider one goes to the back, the narrower one to the front. The magazine is wide end to the rear, narrow end to the front. The top front end is the narrow end with the largest cut out. The rear of the top has what looks like two vee shaped notches, one at either side. The two beveled in edges go to the top.