New
Find
Notify
Tools

M70 Featherweight WSM & barrel heat
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I recently acquired a Winchester 70 Featherweight stainless rifle in .270 WSM. I am new to both Winchester featherweights and magnums/WSMs (previous bolt experience has been .270 Win & .308 Win in a Ruger 77). I took it out to the range this weekend, shooting 150 gr Federal Fusions to sight in. After the first 3 rounds, the barrel was very hot. It took almost 10 minutes to cool down enough to touch comfortably. Weather was mostly cloudy and around 80F according to the thermometer. Is this normal for featherweights and/or magnums (or the combination of the two), or a sign of a problem with the rifle? Does anyone have any suggestions about how 'warm' the barrel should feel before firing the next group or how long the wait should be?

NRA Life Member

Posts: 30 | Location: Wisconsin | Registered: 05 June 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Double whammy going on there, Fwt barrel and a Magnum. It is going to get hot. I test my hunting rifles with three shot groups and thoroughly clean and let cool between groups. I want to know where the gun is printing cold and clean and where it prints heated up.

I shoot the first shot and get a good spot and then follow up with two accurate shots as fast as practical to simulate field shooting.

Cleaning the gun will help it cool down; also take a walk down range and study the groups, mark them etc, to kill some time waiting for that Fwt to cool.

PA Bear Hunter, NRA Benefactor

Posts: 1602 | Location: Potter County, Pennsylvania | Registered: 22 June 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
M70 WSM FWs, IIRC,are roughly a #2 profile(.585-24") as apposed to .560-22" of a std cal FW.
My .270weatherby had .560 -24", got hot, but put the first two touching with third making about 3/4" or less...plent good enough for BG.

Posts: 9434 | Location: Here & There- | Registered: 14 May 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post