New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: richards microfit
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Zach, A couple points, 1 the first rifle and the blank are both claro walnut. The 2 completed rifles were (highly modified) pre-inlets from Richards.
You can't see it in pictures but there are a couple spots I had to fix in the inletting. I have to show 95% of people where they are, they wouldn't find them on their own but I always want to try for perfection which is why I purchased a blank for a new project. Now if I can just find my Pre-War M-70 action.......
I'm still learning about stockmaking - the 2 rifles are my 3rd and 4th rifles I've stocked. I wanted to show that even though they might not be perfect that with some work you can make a rifle out of a Richards Microfit inlet that doesn't look too terrible.........DJ

Posts: 3976 | Location: Oklahoma,USA | Registered: 27 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
Scot,

That is about the best assessment I have read. That is pretty much the way I see it.

I started on one of their semi inlets, a second I believe, simply because I was worried I'd screw it up. Surprisingly, I did much better than I thought. The blemish is all but invisible however their poor inletting could not be corrected. It was kind of a bummer in the end when my work surpassed my expectations but their poor inletting detracted from what would have been otherwise a nice handle. I suppose if I would have done worse I would appreciate the fact that is was a very inexpensive piece of wood.

Posts: 4862 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks z1r. I guess to put it put it more clearly, they cater to the hobiests, not professionals.

Posts: 813 | Location: Left Coast | Registered: 02 November 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post