Find
Notify
Tools

South Bend 13" with 5' Bed?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Siam_Krag
posted
Would this lathe have enough room between centers to do barrel work?

Posts: 169 | Location: Santa Cruz, California | Registered: 11 April 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of kcstott
posted Hide Post
Yep Including 40" barrels. Give or take.

My 10L has a 4' bed and has 30" between centers
So I'd say a 13" should have about 36" between centers minimum

But I don't do barrel work between centers

How old is the machine??

www.KLStottlemyer.com

Deport the Homeless and Give the Illegals citizenship. AT LEAST THE ILLEGALS WILL WORK

Posts: 2534 | Location: National City CA | Registered: 15 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Siam_Krag
posted Hide Post
It was made in 1967. I am a novice and have only had a year of classes at the local community college. I was only concerned if I ever wanted to re-contour (i.e. re-taper barrels).

Posts: 169 | Location: Santa Cruz, California | Registered: 11 April 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of kcstott
posted Hide Post
67 is actually quit new relatively speaking. It could be in good condition.

Either way it should have the range to cut a taper.
Does it have the factory tapper attachment?? If it does you scored big those tapper attachments are worth their weight in gold it seems

www.KLStottlemyer.com

Deport the Homeless and Give the Illegals citizenship. AT LEAST THE ILLEGALS WILL WORK

Posts: 2534 | Location: National City CA | Registered: 15 December 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Those southbends are nice. Some of my guys found one in a shop we have in san francisco being used as a coat rack.

My regional boss had it sent up to us in AK. I'm rusty on it but been practicing on regular stock with my threading. I havent even gone through all the attachments that it came with.

Of course it will be for work purposes only Big Grin

A lesson in irony