New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best finish for laminate
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I bought an unfinished laminate stock from Boyd's, and need some help pickinga finish for it. What is the most durable finish for a laminate? Is there an epoxy or polyurethane that will strengthen the stock and waterproof it? Should I use a stain or oil on the stock to bring out the grain before putting a top coat on?

Posts: 428 | Location: Bozeman, MT | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert, but you have to be carefule staining lam stocks, they can go green color if you try to make them to dark. I've done a couple and you have to be careful with the stain. If they go green, hit it with a lighter color stain on top of the dark and sometime it takes the green away. I personlly would not spend much time on it, keep in mind, it's plywood.

Billy,

High in the shoulder

(we band of bubbas)

Posts: 1868 | Location: League City, Texas | Registered: 11 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted Hide Post
DO NOT use a poly-eurethane type finish. You WILL end up with a pretty green stock if you are using a grey/black laminate. If you are using a brown laminate you are fine with poly. I took mine down to a buddies auto body shop after I had prepped it to 400grit. He sprayed 2 coats of automotive epoxy clear coat. I then wet sanded with 400grit to remove any missed imperfections and he then sprayed 2 more coats. I let it cure for 30 days then wet buffed it out with 000 steel wool for a very nice satin finish that is almost indestructable.

William Berger

True courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway. - John Wayne

The courageous may not live forever, but the timid do not live at all.

Posts: 3155 | Location: Rigby, ID | Registered: 20 March 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
West System Epoxy

Use the #207 Hardener

Waterproof and very hard durable finish.

Elmo