New
Find
Notify
Tools

stockmakers vise
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
What vise do everyone use when building a gunstock.
I was thinking of a leg vise but wanted to ask first.

Posts: 239 | Location: branson mo | Registered: 28 April 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Toomany Tools
posted Hide Post
I bought a “Pattern Maker’s Vise” from Midway a dozen years ago or so, but for some reason they discontinued it. Apparently the same vise is available here: Pattern Maker’s Vise

I modified mine by gluing leather pads to the jaws. I also milled a couple parallel flats on the bottom of the vise so I can clamp in in my Kurt vise for use with my Bridgeport.

John Farner

If you haven't, please join the NRA!

Posts: 2939 | Location: Corrales, NM, USA | Registered: 07 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm not a professional stock maker, but my favorite vise is the Reed 403 1/2.

Once I discoved these swivel jaw vises I replaced most of my vises with them. Reed, Prentiss, Parker all made the swivel jaw vises. I believe Dunlap recommended the Prentiss in his book.

They also made what I believe is called a coachmakers vise which has much taller jaws, but I have not been able to find one with a swivel jaw yet. This example is a Prentiss.

Tried the little cheap pattern makers vise that Midway sell, junk for all but the lightest work.

These old vises are readily available on e-bay if you spend some time looking. If you can find one that the buyer is not aware of the swivel jaw feature you can usually pick it up pretty cheap. The swivel jaw generally triples the price.

John

Posts: 557 | Location: illinois | Registered: 03 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
thanks all for the suggestions.
I found this pic of a leg vise used at Fajen

One of Us
Picture of richj
posted Hide Post
That's a cool vise. Here's a bench vise with wood/leather inserts. The butt is sitting on a mic stand with padded wood top