Find
Notify
Tools

Cold blue for screws, which one to use?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted
A week or so ago I posted about the screws I was using to modiy the knobs on some Warne Premier QD rings.

Well, I mounted the screws in my drill chuck and filed, stoned, then polished the screw heads so I could get them to match the finish on the rings. I tried using Brownells Oxpho Blue Cream and it would only turn the screw heads a weak blue/brown color. Definately not a match.

Does anyone have any suggestions on a cold blue that would ive a good color and match?

William Berger

True courage is being scared to death but saddling up anyway. - John Wayne

The courageous may not live forever, but the timid do not live at all.

Posts: 3155 | Location: Rigby, ID | Registered: 20 March 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Blue Wonder, I've been using it for a couple years, don't use any thing else anymore! It's the best I've used & I've used them all.

Regards Mike

Whiskey for my men & beer for my horses

Posts: 308 | Location: Central Texas | Registered: 12 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Bill,

Brownells cream takes allot of applications before the color starts to darken up... if you follow the directions on the bottle.

I’ve found that heating the parts up, covering them with cream, and letting it set for awhile (five minutes or so) works pretty well.

Posts: 4574 | Location: Valencia, California | Registered: 16 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted Hide Post
Rick,
Thanks for the tip. I will give the heating method a try. The scews look much better after the cleaning up than they did to start with. If I can just get the finish to match I will be in business.
Bill

William Berger

One of Us
posted Hide Post