Find
Notify
Tools

A GOOD book, & inexpensive
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted
Every winter I go back and read through 50 or so of the several thousand books on guns I have accumulated over the years. Much more fun than tromping around in the West Oregon rain, mud, etc. Something about a fire, eggnog, and a book...

Anyway, last night re-opened one of the books which influenced me a lot when I was a young cop, working my way through college after getting out of the service. It is called "Rifles - A Modern Encyclopedia - A Standard Reference Work", by Henry M. Stebbins, The Stackpole Company, Harrisburg, PA, 1958, 376 p. It is an 8-1/2 x 11 hard bound book which must have sold about a zillion and a half copies in the late 50's, early 60's.

It pretty much covers all the different American-made or commonly used rifles from about the beginning of the 1900's until its publishing date. It is not overly technical and is very well-written in basic simple English with adequate, clear, B&W pictures.

It probably taught me more about various American rifles than every other book of the last 50 years. Covers very briefly the differences between the Rem 722-B, 722-A. 722 BDL, 722-B "Special" Grade, for instance. Also shows clearly the differences in thinking about rifles in those days from today, and sort of implicitly carries with it a message or two about shooting and hunting ethics, that kind of thing...also WHY some features of rifles evolved.

This book was so common in the "olde" days of almost 50 years ago, that most used booksellers seem to still have it available for $15 or so.