Find
Notify
Tools

Which 700 trigger to replace factory?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of IdahoVandal
posted
I have a Remington 700 with the factory trigger in it, rather than just do a trigger job I want to replace it with Timney or R. Basix or???? Anyone had anything they really like or disliked? The rifle is currently chambered in .338 RUM and used for elk so I am thinking any of the ones between 1 1/2 lbs -4 lbs.
Any comments???

IdahoVandal

minus 300 posts from my total
(for all the times I should have just kept my mouth shut......)

Posts: 844 | Location: Moscow, Idaho | Registered: 24 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Kory
posted Hide Post
IdahoVandal,

It really depends what you budger us, If you're willing to spend $250, I'd go with the Jewell HVR. Nothing I've used is better.

Otherwise, Rifle Basix is good, Shilen is good. I have no experience with Timney on the Remmy, but they seemed to work pretty well on a Mauser I tried.

Good luck,
Kory

Posts: 860 | Location: Montana | Registered: 16 August 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm not sure why you want to replace the 700 trigger. After you knock the epoxy off that covers the adjustment screws. remingtons trigger is fully adjustable & is one of the better ones out there. If you don't know how, take to a gunsmith & he will do it for a very nominal fee

Posts: 13460 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have several 700’s and two of them have Timney triggers...and to be real honest I really can’t see much difference. I like the ⅜†wide trigger on the Timney’s...but some people prefer a narrow trigger.