New
Find
Notify
Tools

Quality of Montana Action
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hello: I ordered two stainless left hand standard bolt face long actions quite a while ago. I have heard recently about some actions that were not quite right. I would like to hear from someone that has built a rifle on these actions. Are these a good platform for a custom rifle or just a rough start? Bear in mind, I have heard of pockets or voids in the metal, Plus rough cast surfaces that needed quite a bit of polishing. I have no personal experience with these actions, But would like to know if they are as advertised. Any real life opinions? Thank You.

Posts: 87 | Location: Woodbury, Ct. 06798 | Registered: 29 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of dempsey
posted Hide Post
I'm NOT a expert. But from a regular Joe point of view, my only beef with mine is the ejection port area isn't polished. I thought they said all exposed areas would be. Not a big thing for the price paid and I'm satisifed.

Posts: 6205 | Location: Cascade, MT | Registered: 12 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Pleased with mine. Some final polishing can be done to the ejection port and bolt raceway if you want (I did) but it is not necessary. Function and accuracy have been great. Pretty tough to top for the money.

Posts: 767 | Location: Seeley Lake Montana | Registered: 17 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Elkslayer
posted Hide Post