Find
Notify
Tools

How hard is it to Duracoat?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Brando
posted
Just got a Mossberg 500 Persuader pistol grip shotty on a trade for a used riding mower I paid $50 for. The shotgun is in rough cosmetic shape, guy said he kept it under the seat of his truck for years whiel he was a DNR officer in WV so it took some abuse from the back roads. There is no rusting or pitting and all the bad spots are entirely cosmetic and not into the actual metal.

So im wondering how hard is it to actually duracoat a firearm? Im a pretty good painter for auto body and such. I just Rhino Lined an entire Jeep CJ-7 and have done several wind screens with airbrush work for guys motorcycles.

Posts: 468 | Location: Goldsboro, NC. | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Duracoat is easy to apply. It just does not hold up.

Cerakote is what holds up for a long, long time. With you airbrush and spraying skills, you would have no trouble applying Cerakote. You will need access to a blasting cabinet to prepare the metal for Cerakote application. 120 grit Aluminum Oxide is recommended by the manufacturer. Brownells sells it.

Posts: 7158 | Location: Snake River | Registered: 02 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Tex21
posted Hide Post
Duracoat's not too bad on a knock around gun. If it wears off, just spray more on. Its like the Krylon from hell. There's better products out there but it'll probably work for what most of us use it for.

My only advice for you is that you do not apply it to any moving parts. There is nothing slick about Duracoat; it will cause parts to bind when you slide Duracoat over Duracoat.

Jason

"Chance favors the prepared mind."

Posts: 1449 | Location: Dallas, Texas | Registered: 24 February 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post