New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mauser Kurtz Actions
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I bought a custom rifle this weekend. It appears to be an original Orberndorf Kurtz barrelled action in 250-3000. It has a solid left sidewall. It still has the roll stamp on the front receiver ring, the roll stamp on the left sidewall in proper position the crests and BU markings. The barrel looks like it came out of the Speed Book. These are rare as hens teeth. How would one know for sure?????

square shooter

Posts: 2608 | Location: Moore, Oklahoma, USA | Registered: 28 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I think there was one at the Tulsa show on a table with a bunch of Clayton Nelson rifles. I am not an expert on them, but it was a short action 98 with a 250-3000 barrel and it did not appear to have been shortened. I believe this one had a thumb cut however.

John

Posts: 563 | Location: illinois | Registered: 03 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
lb404,
There is some extensive testing that can be done to determine if it is genuine. Fortunately for you, I know how to do the testing and will do it an no cost. It does however take approximately 20 years. Send the rifle to ...........

Chic Worthing
"Life is Too Short To Hunt With An Ugly Gun"
http://webpages.charter.net/cworthing/

Posts: 4917 | Location: Wenatchee, WA, USA | Registered: 17 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
gasgunner, that is the one. It does not have a thumb cut! I have had it apart and can find no weld lines. I bought it assuming it was a 98 that had been shortened to Kurtz. I do not think so now. It is a real sweet rifle. When he wants to, Clayton Nelson can really make some nice stuff. How rare is a solid left wall Kurtz action?

square shooter

Posts: 2608 | Location: Moore, Oklahoma, USA | Registered: 28 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of TC1
posted Hide Post
Would love to see some pics! If you see me some, I'll host them for you.

Terry