Notify
Tools

Barrel Adjustment on Win Mdl-12
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of SxS-boy
posted
Hello,

Has anyone ever successfully loosened and re-adjusted the barrel adjusting sleeve. If so what did you do to loosen the sleeve and how did you hold it w/o ruining it? I am trying to put a high numbered (1.3 mill) barrel on my low numbered 254XXX receiver but need to get 1/8 turn more on it for a proper match up.

I was able to get it to suck in a lot of penetrating oil w/ a little heat from a butane torch but it's frozen on pretty well.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated

Thanks, Joe

posted Hide Post
There is a discussion of fitting a model 12 bbl on Nu-line guns webpage.

Model 12 bbl fitting

Posts: 19 | Location: Montana | Registered: 03 November 2011Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a tool made by Menck for turning the Model 12 adjusting sleeve. I've been using it for over 15 years. It looks like a double end box wrench, one end for 12 ga, the other for 20. Brownells use to carry them but I can't find a listing. Maybe they show up on Ebay or the used market.

Mark Pursell

Posts: 545 | Location: Liberty, MO | Registered: 21 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't see them listed anyplace either. Apparently now that working on Model 12's has fallen a bit out of vogue, nobody's selling them anymore.
You might try contacting Tom Menck directly ( in Ralston, Nebraska iirc.) He might have some old stock.
Lacking that, I have one that I made up in school some 40 years ago (about the same time Mr. Menck was there) and could email you a pic and quick dimension drawing if you wanted to make one. Interestingly, several of Mr. Menck's earlier tool offerings bear strong resemblance to some that we made as shop projects. And good on him for offering them commercially and basing a successful business on them.

A good job is sometimes just a series of expertly fixed fark-ups.