New
Find
Notify
Tools

lathe question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I know this is probably a dumb question, but if you don't know, you don't know!

How do you grip a tapered barrel with the chuck?

Posts: 1499 | Location: NE Okla | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Not a dumb question at all! I am immensely interested myself in hearing how it is done, correctly.

I know how I would do it, but it would not involve a "chuck".

ASS_CLOWN

Posts: 1673 | Location: MANY DIFFERENT PLACES | Registered: 14 May 2004Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I'm not a gunsmith, but as a machinist I would make a collar out of aluminum. Taper the inside of the collar to match the barrel, then split one side so it will tighten up on the barrel when you close it in the chuck.

Posts: 9 | Location: Colorado Springs | Registered: 24 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
One way, the way I do it if I need to chamber in a steady, is to cut a one inch or so straight section where the muzzle end is. This end gets cut off anyway so I turn it into a straight section that is easily gripped by the chuck. When done, it gets removed and a nice crown is added. Do this before shortening the barrel to its final length.

One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted Hide Post
I gather you have a lathe with a spindle hole that is too small to push the barrel in to the point where you can grip parallel sides of the barrel.....

What I do if the taper is not too severe, is to wrap the barrel with about 6-10 wraps of old used crocus cloth, grit side OUT. The 4-jaw chuck compresses one end of the crocus cloth more than the other, but both give firm grip of the barrel.

AC

Posts: 9685 | Location: Cave Creek 85331, USA | Registered: 17 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
If you have 2 piece jaws you can make a set of soft jaws of aluminum and taper them with the cross slide set to the rirht angle and a boring bar.