Find
Notify
Tools

Magnaport vs Muzzle blast .300 Win mag
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of morton3
posted
Is anyone the owner of a .300 Win mag (Ruger M77 stainless/synthetic)or similar that has been magnaported ? Is the reduction in recoil a viable trade off for the increase in muzzle blast.
I have no experience with magnaporting, is the muzzle blast as bad as some people say ?

Posts: 124 | Location: Newcastle Australia | Registered: 23 September 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I had a 375 H&H that had been MagnaPorted. It was louder. I didn't notice a significant reduction in felt recoil. It did tame the muzzle rise quite well, I must admit. I ended up rebarreling that rifle (not a big investment because I had another 375 H&H take off barrel on hand).
For a muzzle break on a 300 Win Mag I would recomend the original Vais muzzle brake. Ron Bartlett makes them now. They tame recoil very well, and don't increase the bark as much as most of the other brakes on the market. The 300's tend to have a pretty "snappy" recoil. That bothers me more than my 416's. Go figure.
JCN

Posts: 7158 | Location: Snake River | Registered: 02 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I had a 300 Weatherby that I put a KDF muzzle break on. It kicked like a 243, but was too loud.
I recently got a Blaser 300 win Mag bbl that was Magna Ported. I have only shot it a few times, but so far I do not find it painfully loud, and the recoil was reduced quite a bit. I need to shoot this Magna Port bbl more but so far I like it.

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of morton3
posted Hide Post
Thanks JCN,
I have not yet taken delivery of the 300 yet, our ridiculous gun laws here in Australia will prevent that for at least 6 weeks. It`s great to get honest feedback in the meantime, allowing me to become educated on the subject.
Cheers