Find
Notify
Tools

Help ID this Mauser?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted
At the range today I saw a very nice Mauser sporter, the likes of which I have not seen before....but then, I am no Mauser expert.

This was 7 m/m sporter. Appeared to be a factory job, not a home effort. Had about 24" or 26" barrel (didn't have a tape with me). Looked like the barrel might be original military, turned down,with rear sight removed and ramp front added. Stock was nice walnut with fiddleback but no crotch, Had a cheek piece of typical European features....fairly long and straight, no Monte Carleo, & square on each end.

Rifle had miltary-tyle safety, and action was definitely some version of a M98. Had nicely turned down nbolt handle, with the bottom of the knob still round but the top flattened with beautifully done, very fine spaced, metal checkering. Triggers were standard Germanic-style double-set.

The front receiver ring had the orginal crest still 100% present. Have never seen that particular crest before. Looked like an expanse of individual flames, side by side, with a 5-pointed star at the middle of the top of the flames. At the base of the flames were three letters too small for me to read in the dim light and right next to them were the letters "1943" in Very small numerals. Neither the letters or the numerals appeared to have been added separately from the crest itself, but appeared part OF the crest.

On the left side of the reciever was stamped a couple or three words in an alphabet I am not familiar with. Didn't look Arabbic, Cyrilic, or English to me. Have no idea which alphabet it was.