New
Find
Notify
Tools

Military Enfield action
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Does the P-14 action have an internal barrel shoulder? I am looking at a customized P-14 and it looks like it has a shoulder but it is uneven so there is a gap at the lower region of the extractor recess. The barrel does not seem to have any contact with the "shoulder" in this particular area. It also looks like it has a Winchester style barrel breech. I am relatively new to all these actions so any insight will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Posts: 1002 | Location: Midwest USA | Registered: 01 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
The P-14 & 17 actions don't have an internal shoulder. The barrel torques up against the receiver ring face.

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks Doug for the info. Here is a picture of what I was talking about. Again, there is a gap at the bottom of the breech face area. It looks like the receiver has been turned down but this gap does not run all the way around reciever ring. Any ideas what and why it's there?

-

Posts: 1002 | Location: Midwest USA | Registered: 01 September 2001Reply With Quote
<JBelk>
posted
mingo--

Thats the locking lug recess for the right lug.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Jack,

Yes, it is the lug recess but between the lug recess and the breech face there is a gap about .060 wide. It looks like there is a shoulder or a step of some sort there for the breech face to butt against, but it never made the contact, leaving a gap in the area. I am still confused. Thanks!

<JBelk>
posted
mingo---

That's the last thread in the receiver. Ten TPI, sguare.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks Jack!