Find
Notify
Tools

Whitworth Action
 Login/Join

<Mike Anderson>
posted
Gentlemen:

I would like to know if anyone has built a 416 rigby on the whitworth action? I have just put my hands on one of these actions which is in 375 H&H. I haven't done any close meassurements yet , but, it appears that it is a large/long enough action.

I'm new to large bores so I would appreciate your comments and experience with this action.

Regards
Mike

one of us
posted Hide Post

I would like to know if anyone has built a 416 rigby on the whitworth action? I

If it's like all of the ones I have looked at lots of metal in the bottom locking lug area has been removed to create a feed ramp for the .375 length cartridge. Take it to your favorite GUNSMITH and have him check it out!

Good Luck!!

Posts: 2359 | Location: KENAI, ALASKA | Registered: 10 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You can build a 416 Rem on a Whitworth.

You cannot build a 416 Rigby on a Whitworth.

------------------
Ray Atkinson

ray@atkinsonhunting.com
atkinsonhunting.com

Posts: 42157 | Location: Twin Falls, Idaho | Registered: 04 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Mike,

The Whitworth is too short, I believe, and just doesn't provide enough steel around that big fat Rigby cartridge. My PH in Zim. has a beautiful (in a worn, scratched up PH sort of way) Whitworth in .416 REM. Simply put . . .Same performance . . .Half the price.

Regards,

JohnTheGreek

Posts: 4697 | Location: North Africa and North America | Registered: 05 July 2001Reply With Quote
<Mike Anderson>
posted
I appreciate the feedback on the whitworth!

thks again

Mike

So many guns so.. little time!

one of us
posted Hide Post
Why ruin a perfectly good .375 H&H...they have a rep for good barrels that seem a bit "faster" than most.

Posts: 4360 | Location: Sunny Southern California | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Oldsarge
posted Hide Post