New
Find
Notify
Tools

Swapping barrels on a Rem 700?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Just a quick question. I'm pretty sure that I know all of the answers but I thought I'd verify.

I've been fooling with a Rem 700 Classic for a couple of years and I've been having a hell of a time getting it to shoot anything. Since I've already got one gun at Shilen for a rebarrel and can't afford another right now I snagged a 700 Classic barrel in 7mm Weatherby Mag off of Ebay to tinker with in the meantime. I know that the follower might have to be changed, and the feed lips adjusted. Plus the headspace might (probably will) have to be adjusted. What are the odds that it'll fit straightaway? Are the adjustments all made on the barrel side? i.e. in the event that I wanted to switch back, can I do that?

Other than that, any tips on the 7mm Weatherby? I need another magnum like a whole in the head, but since the barrel was cheap and the 300 H&H wasn't shooting well I figured what the hell.

Posts: 852 | Location: Austin | Registered: 24 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of tiggertate
posted Hide Post
If you can beg, borrow or rent a set of go no-go gauges there's a chance the thing will headspace without any other work. Whether it's 1 in 20 or 1 in 200 I couldn't guess.

"Experience" is the only class you take where the exam comes before the lesson.

Posts: 11137 | Location: Texas, USA | Registered: 22 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Kingfisher:

I've been fooling with a Rem 700 Classic for a couple of years and I've been having a hell of a time getting it to shoot anything. I snagged a 700 Classic barrel in 7mm Weatherby Mag off of Ebay to tinker with. I know that the follower might have to be changed, and the feed lips adjusted. Plus the headspace might (probably will) have to be adjusted.