THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Altering a Bolt Face on a Siamese Mauser?
 Login/Join

posted
Would like to ask about the best method to alter a Siamese Mauser bolt face to accept a smaller rimmed cartridge...in the 7x 57r rim sizes, or possibly 303 Brit. The exact cartridge has not been decided on, but would like to gather info before deciding if this rifle project is something that I want to do. Would it be better to use a 98 bolt and alter it to fit the Siamese mauser action? Or have a custom bolt made? I'm new to this sort of project so please excuse my ignorance on this subject. I did search thru past postings on this subject but not much could be found regarding the Siamese Mauser bolt face. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Jeff

Posts: 4 | Location: Great White North | Registered: 09 September 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
I take it you have not priced a new hand made bolt lately.
Here is my question; WHY? The Siamese is not ideal for small cases; it's forte is large bore, and at least large rimmed ammo.
Best platform to use is a 7.62 Russian case; very close to the Siamese and it is 1000 times easier to open up the bolt face than close it up. Open up only .010 or so.
The 7.62 case is readily available, as are a number of cartridges small and large. I would go with a 405 Grenadier, There are others.

Posts: 17291 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of speerchucker30x378
posted Hide Post
2020 Are there actually some Siamese Mausers out there that HAVEN'T, been rebarreled to 45-70 yet? Every pumpkin chunkin, bear plunkin, muskrat sunkin Hillbilly in Alberta wants one of those damned things to play with !