New
Find
Notify
Tools

OT- Rebuild an oil-less air compressor?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I picked up an old Bell & Gossett 1/2hp oil-less air compressor,nice and quiet, perfect size for the workshop, blowing off parts, dirt out of actions etc.

Only problem is it won't get up past 55psi. It doesn't shut down, the cutoff switch is ON @ 90, OFF @ 125psi.

It just keeps running. There aren't any leaks, when I shut it down and let it stand it will hold pressure.

I assume there must be some gaskets or reed valves that need replacement but B&G stopped making compressors back in the mid 1960's so they're no help.

Once again I call upon the members of this BBS for expertise. What needs to be done and where can I get parts? I know I can buy a new one for a couple of huderd bucks but i'd like to get this running if possible.

Thanks, Rob

Posts: 1692 | Location: East Coast | Registered: 06 January 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Rob,
I'm no compressor expert, but if it's oil-less I suspect it is a diaphram type. Very similar to a mechanical fuel pump. It's quite possible that there is a hole or tear in the diaphram. It could be quite small. The diaphrams I've seen look like the same material used in inner tubes with a layer or two of fabric inbedded. If that turns out to be the case and you can't find a replacement you might try an inner tube patch. Of course this is all just a guess. You'll have to pull the head off to check it.
If it's Around forty years old, it may be dry rotted and you'll have to source or make a replacement.
I have no clue on a parts source, but if that's what it turns out to be (diaphram) you can make one yourself.

Posts: 220 | Location: SW Missouri USA | Registered: 13 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post