New
Find
Notify
Tools

.300 RUM TO .404 JEFF
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have the chance to buy a Winchester Model 70 Classic Super Grade in .300 RUM from a friend for a very reasonable price. My initial thought when offered the rifle was to buy it and then rebarrel it to .404 Jeffery. Since the .300 RUM is based on the .404 case, I do not believe that there would be too much additional work needed to get the .404 to feed properly. Your thoughts on doing this conversion (especially the pitfalls) would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 262 | Location: PA & VA, USA | Registered: 26 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of 323
posted Hide Post
That is what I did with my Savage in a 300RUM had it rebarreld to a 404. No problems just a new barrel.

Posts: 2501 | Location: Wasilla, Alaska | Registered: 31 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
TreeFarmer,

I am no expert, but I am building a 404 from a mdl 70 classic, I bought a NIB 300 UltraMag to start with. First off if I had to do it over again I would do it on a CZ. Reason being is not having to buy bottom metal. Keep in mind I didn't have to, but I wanted 4 down.

Dennis olson did the feeding on mine, and it didn't take him long to get it to feed, I think he charged me a 100 bucks or so. I am using a factory mag box with Sunny-Hill bottom metal. Mine feeds 4 down slicker than a gut.

The mdl 70 in a Ultra mag is very easy to get it to feed. Just depends on what you want at the end of the day.

Posts: 1868 | Location: League City, Texas | Registered: 11 April 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of vapodog
posted Hide Post
Quote:

My initial thought when offered the rifle was to buy it and then rebarrel it to .404 Jeffery. Since the .300 RUM is based on the .404 case, I do not believe that there would be too much additional work needed to get the .404 to feed properly.

If you want a 40 cal with a lot of whompass in a M-70.....just buy it. It's called the .416 Rem Mag.