Find
Notify
Tools

And the award for the crudest gun goes to
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of speerchucker30x378
posted
Many years ago, when I was a Widdle Gun Plumber, I quietly gave the Russians my own personal trophy for being able to build the crudest firearm in the world. I guess I have to call Putin and see if that nasty little Cossack will give it back so I can send it to Turkey now. If you blow up the picture you can see that only after a year, the firing pins are peening over, the mainspring rods are bent and there are chips torn out of the sears. No comment on the fit and finish.

Turkish Shotgun by Rod Henrickson, on Flickr

When I was a kid. I had the stick. I had the rock. And I had the mud puddle. I am as adept with them today, as I was back then. Lets see today's kids say that about their IPods, IPads and XBoxes in 45 years!
Rod Henrickson

Posts: 2542 | Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada | Registered: 05 June 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Looks strikingly like the 1907 Iver Johnson I am currently trying to restore.

Posts: 3780 | Location: SC,USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hate to say, but I think the FP-45 Liberator, beats the Russkie, hands down.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Since we are talking about crude guns thought I might add this one. its a 410 2 1/2 inch shotgun. The barrel is wire wrapped and the receiver and barrel are made from layers of sheet metal pinned together. It does chamber a shell but I am not brave enough to pull the trigger.
Found it in a small gun shop in town 20 years ago

Never rode a bull, but have shot some.

NRA life member
NRA LEO firearms instructor (retired)
NRA Golden Eagles member

Posts: 1510 | Location: Camp Verde, AZ | Registered: 13 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of sambarman338
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by thirdbite:
What make is the shotgun?