New
Find
Notify
Tools

Opinions on gluing ebony tips
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Super glue, regular wood glue or epoxy ?
Have done a few with regular wood glue and had no issues, but they are yet to be time tested.

Thanks in advance

Posts: 1077 | Location: oregon | Registered: 20 February 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I’m not an expert, but I’ve used Titebond II wood glue and two dowels. There may be better ways, but this has held up for me.

Shoot Safe,
Mike

NRA Endowment Member
www.Marionroad.com
www.mausercentral.net

Posts: 961 | Location: Middle Georgia | Registered: 06 February 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of buffybr
posted Hide Post
I've done them with two wood dowels and either Tightbond or Brownellls bedding epoxy. Did my first one in 1967, never had one break off.

NRA Endowment Life Member

Posts: 1632 | Location: Boz Angeles, MT | Registered: 14 February 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've used acra-glass or Titebond successfully, always with a dowel. Always wash ebony face with acetone. I've had nightmares about it, but none have come off, far as I know.

ACGG Life Member, since 1985

Posts: 1794 | Registered: 07 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I know Pete Grisel used Titebond wood glue.

Craftsman

Posts: 1538 | Location: North Texas | Registered: 11 February 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
thanks guys Smiler

One of Us
posted Hide Post
threaded bolt and nut

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Acragel dyed black with two 1/4" dowels. So far, so good.

Posts: 1232 | Location: Montana | Registered: 18 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post