Find
Notify
Tools

Stock finishes for Laminated Stock
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Pa.Frank
posted
I have a laminated stock from Midway that is just about finished. I was going to seal it with a couple coats of thinned tung oil, and then the final coats using minwax tung oil finish.

I have never worked on laminated wood before so my question is, does anyone see any problems with this?

Or, does anyone have any better suggestions?

Thanks

Posts: 1980 | Location: The Three Lower Counties (Delaware USA) | Registered: 13 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Depends on the final finish one wants. I have used Minwax Satin Helmsman Spar Urethane, the same in Gloss, True Oil, Varathane outdoor oil finish, some witches brew mixtures,etc.

Just prep and sand properly. Laminated stocks (the Rutland type, not the AcraBonds) can be difficult to get a smooth sanded finish due to the roughness of the laminates (end grain of the plys).

[ 08-24-2003, 20:22: Message edited by: John Ricks ]

Posts: 1055 | Location: Real Sasquatch Country!!! I Seen 'Em! | Registered: 16 January 2001Reply With Quote
<allen day>
posted
I'm a hunter, not a gunmaker, but I feel strongly about this subject, so please bear with me.

I had a laminated-stock custom .300 Win. Mag. that I hunted with quite a bit. It was stocked with a blank from Rutlage Lumber (or Rutland, something like that), and the outfit that built the rifle finished it with some sort of Tung oil preparation. This was a wonderful and finely-accurate rifle, and I loved it.

But on a late-season goat hunt, one morning's worth of wet snow completely washed the finish out of the pores, and the stock began to delaminate. One of my friends owned a rifle from the same maker that he had to have refinished FOUR (as in 4!) times due to the same problem.