New
Find
Notify
Tools

M70 cocking piece troubles
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a model 70 Super Grade pre-64 serial #2194XX that needs a cocking piece (I think?). The bolt was missing when I got the rifle and I did find a replacement with the same bolt face, but the cocking piece will not move far enough to the rear for the safety to be engaged. I am not sure which way to go at this point, replace the cocking piece and striker or find a pre-64. the bolt will close and fire but it is hard to lift the bolt handle afterwards. There is no one in the surrounding area that I could or would take it to so I am going to have to fix it myself. I am a machinist and can to the work just not familiar with the older model 70's

Any help would be apprecated.

Never rode a bull, but have shot some.

NRA life member
NRA LEO firearms instructor (retired)
NRA Golden Eagles member

Posts: 1510 | Location: Camp Verde, AZ | Registered: 13 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Doesn't the pre64 cocking piece have a relieved area on the front right side for the safety to rotate into? Without seeing it AI'd guess a little metal needs to removed on the rear of that area. Cocking piece and bolt ramp smooth?

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Yes that is the problem, the cocking piece does not move far enough to the rear for the safety to rotate in to block it. Before I remove any metal I wanted to make sure that is the proper method.

NRA life member
NRA Golden Eagles member

Posts: 1510 | Location: Camp Verde, AZ | Registered: 13 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of speerchucker30x378
posted Hide Post