Find
Notify
Tools

What can I do with a Marlin 336?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted
As I moved my wife's Marlin 336 out of the way for the 50th time I started wondering what we could do with it.

The rifle was her dad's so it will stay but it is in 35 Remington. While fun to shoot cans with and shorter range deer not something we would use here in Colorado.

I have no experience with the 336. Is it something that could be rebarreled easy enough?? Or maybe a rechamber to something else???

Or is it simply something that will be left gathering dust in our safe until she passes it on to her son who will probably not use it either.

Thoughts?

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fla3006
posted Hide Post
Marlin levers in 35Rem are "iconic" rifles. I'd leave it alone, even if it isn't well suited for long range Colorado situations.

NRA Life Member, Band of Bubbas Charter Member, PGCA, DRSS.
Shoot & hunt with vintage classics.

Posts: 9487 | Location: Texas Hill Country | Registered: 11 January 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would give up my 700/.30-06 before I'd give up my 336/.35.

There's little to be gained by rechambering or rebarreling a classic lever gun.

Posts: 1615 | Location: South Western North Carolina | Registered: 16 September 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
35 Remington is a fine round and makes this Marlin measureably more valuable than if it was a 30/30. Let the family cherish the memories------after all, that all we've got!

Posts: 249 | Location: Texas Hill Country | Registered: 05 October 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I would use it. Buffalo bore 220 gr. JSN at 2200 fps would be a good dark timber elk load. The Hornady Leverevolution should be a fine deer load out to 300 yards. But thats just me, I like to use all my guns so I plan hunts so I can.