THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Do wood stocks bend over time due to gravity?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I remember someone told me to store Billiard cues vertically so they don't bend and take a set over time. I've taken a wood stock off of a Swedish M96 and let it lean against a wall for about 6 monthes, does anyone think stocks will bend over time?

Posts: 638 | Location: O Canada! | Registered: 21 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Time and gravity will affect subtle changes in anything. A look in the mirror confirms this! Regards, Bill.

Posts: 3784 | Location: Elko, B.C. Canada | Registered: 19 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I am not an expert, so take this with a grain of salt. :-)

I would think that moisture and temp would have affects on the wood, I don't think that gravity would. For one I don't think that most rifle stocks support enough weight for gravity to change their shape in a measurable amount. And rifles stored horizontally usually are supported at the forend and just behind the grip of the stock.

You have made me curious though. hopefully one of the stockmakers or gunsmiths will give us an answer.

Red

Posts: 4740 | Location: Fresno, CA | Registered: 21 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Well Pyrotek billards fanatics have to have something to be paranoid about, just like gun nuts.
I wouldnt worry about it.

Posts: 2045 | Location: West most midwestern town. | Registered: 13 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Pyrotek:
...does anyone think (Edit: add Termite Food) stocks will bend over time?

Hey Pyrotek, Don't know about your definition of bending, but they will "warp" - meaning in no consistent or predictable direction. It also makes no difference if they are on the rifle for them to warp or not.