New
Find
Notify
Tools

greenie ...need some help
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Hi guys and thanks for reading, I am looking to buy a new rig for hunting, a mountain gun something small and light that can take whatever mother nature can throw at it . I realy like the remington TI weight and gun overall but they don't offer it in 270 wsm and that is the caliber I would like. I don't have the kind of money to just go to a guy and say hey build me a custom gun , the guys over on 24 hr campfire say that a semi custom can be done for around 12-1500. So that is what I am looking to do ( bear in mind this is my first time at this, so yes I don't know how to get it done but I know what I like)
Here are some question I would like to ask from you guy that know a lot more about this than me.
First getting an action I know MRC is offering a short action is there anyone else selling just the action or am I limited to crusing the used gun rack for one, and does what caliber the short action is have any affect on what I want to build ? Next I have a question on triggers Timney , Basics, or jewell and why ? How about barrel selection Pacnor, schnieder, Kreiger there are just too many to list them all ? Next a light weight stock , I have seen a lot of guys like the Bansner any other recomedations I know Mc's are good but I guys are saying they are a little heavy? I have been hunting for a long time and have only had to put a second shot into an animal once in my life in 27 years of hunting ,knowing this what barrel contour would you select? I would like to be about 6.5 or a shade more with glass and all.Just one last question , is the matte finish as weather proff as the traditional finish on an ss action and barrel I like the matte better less glare .I know this is a lot to ask and maybe I am just out of my mind thinking this can be done but I figured if anyone would know it would be someone here. Thanks agian I really appreciate any help you guys could offer.