New
Find
Notify
Tools

Browning Mauser Bolt Release
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm considering buying a Browning (or FN or H&R, etc) Mauser bolt action. The most recent thing I ran across that I don't understand is the bolt release on this Browning Safai bolt action. It deosn't look Mauser-standard to me, but I'm new at this.

What are the advantages/disadvantages to this configuration, and more importantly, can it be fixed or replaced if broken?

Jaywalker

Posts: 1006 | Location: Texas | Registered: 30 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
That is a late Browning version of the Mauser bolt stop/release. I think that its open design allows for dust & any forgien matter to get into the mechanism. I can see no advantage to it except from a manufacturing standpoint. It had to be cheaper to make than the standard Mauser release or else Browning wouldn't have gone to the trouble of redesigning it. I think that you're going to have to live with it. This feature would not stop me from buying the rifle if the price was right though.

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station

Try to look unimportant. Your enemy might be low on ammo.

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I had one years ago. Never had a problem. I don't know if it was cheaper or Browning's attempt to make it look a little more streamlined or just maybe less military.

While I prefer the 98 style release if the price was right I would not let the release stop me.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of M1Tanker
posted Hide Post