New
Find
Notify
Tools

Glass bed Bottom Metal??
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hello Fellas, I have a Win M70 barreled action and I am about ready to receive my new Manners Stock which already has Pillars already installed so I am almost good to go!

I am going to skim-bed the recoil lug and tang but I am wondering if I need to also bed the bottom metal...trigger guard and hinged-floor plate.

I have successfully done a few bedding jobs but never the bottom metal.

Do you feel it is necessary to bed the bottom metal, and if you do, do you bed it separately from the action job or all at the same time....I am wondering how it would be done at the same time since I will have the blind screws protruding down from the action bedding.

Any words of wisdom for me??

Posts: 6080 | Location: New York City "The Concrete Jungle" | Registered: 04 May 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
LT,
I'm not a pro stock builder but I've done a few dozen and, when bedding is used, I DO bed the bottom-metal.
This is done as a separate step to bedding the action area.
Too many things can go wrong when bedding top and bottom at the same time.
My 2 cents,
Zeke

one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
I normally bed the tang and screw area. I don't bed along the side of the mag box. As a separate step

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i bed the bottom, but don't scim bed the tang i'd full bed that

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Wow, I just got home and found these great responses....thanks!

So tell me if this sounds good to you:

I will first bed the entire barreled action.