Find
Notify
Tools

Hey, CustomStock!
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Chic,

Have you ever used Sutherland/Wells polymerized Tung Oil sealer and Marine Spar Varnish? Their literature (for whatever its worth) states that there are no oils other than tung oil used in the products.

I recently finished a wooden stocked M1A with it and it looks really nice, very warm and nice dull satin look...but since I’ve never used it before was wondering how well it holds up.

Posts: 4574 | Location: Valencia, California | Registered: 16 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of D Humbarger
posted Hide Post
Rick i was looking at the same stuff ( different manufacture maybe ) J.E. Mosers polymerized tung oil sealer & polymerized tung oil varnish in a in a WOODWOOKERS SUPPLY catalogue. I too am interseter in Chics response.

Doug Humbarger
NRA Life member
Tonkin Gulf Yacht Club 72'73.
Yankee Station

Try to look unimportant. Your enemy might be low on ammo.

Posts: 8350 | Location: Jennings Louisiana, Arkansas by way of Alabama by way of South Carloina by way of County Antrim Irland by way of Lanarkshire Scotland. | Registered: 02 November 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by D Humbarger:
Rick i was looking at the same stuff ( different manufacture maybe ) J.E. Mosers polymerized tung oil sealer & polymerized tung oil varnish in a in a WOODWOOKERS SUPPLY catalogue. I too am interseter in Chics response.

I’ve used several brands of Tung oil based products over the years but this is the first time I have use the Sutherland Wells brand. They sell it in Garret Wade woodworkers catalogs and supposedly it is one of the few brands that doesn’t use other types of oil mixed in with the Tung Oil.