Find
Notify
Tools

6mm BR on a set back 243?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Big Wonderful Wyoming
posted
I bought a new M700 Varmint in 243 and I really didn't want a 243, I have a Shilen 6mm 1 in 8 barrel I was going to chamber it on.

How big of a pain in the ass is it to cut off set back and rechamber the 243 to 6mm BR Norma when they install and chamber the Shilen barrel?

Posts: 7775 | Location: Das heimat! | Registered: 10 October 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
The 700 is a 243? The Shilen barrel is unchambered? Or is it a 243"?

The 6MMBR is .5" shorter than the 243. If the barrels is a 243 if you have enough shank go for it. If unchambered go for it.

As to feeding from the 700 I have no experience.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
It has the new original barrel on it.

I'd like to true the action and cut off and set back the original 243 barrel to 6mm BR Norma.

Then unthread it and fit the Shilen.

That way the Shilen is already fitted, and when I run through the factory barrel I am set to go. Or if the factory barrel is junk.

Posts: 7775 | Location: Das heimat! | Registered: 10 October 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
Your time your $$. If you can set the barrel back the fit in the stock will probably not be that great. The Shilen will probably be different still.

For my $$ pull the factory barrel leave it as a 243 and sell it. Mount the Shilen and go shooting.

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

One of Us
posted Hide Post
And on top of that, when you do true the action, and if done correctly, the original threads may not fit, would be a sloppy fit and you would have to cut off the original threads and wouldn't have enough shank left. Besides, how long will it take you to shoot out the new 6BR?

Jim Kobe
10841 Oxborough Ave So
Bloomington MN 55437