Find
Notify
Tools

Critique my barrel fitting setup and method
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of PWS
posted
I'm just a hobbyist at this point so a slow process doesn't correlate any lost income. I would, however, like to do things the best I can and appreciate any advice and help. First barrel took me three days but I've got it down to a single busy but relaxed day now. Also, being a consumptive hobby, I've tried to minimize costs in equipment while producing an acceptable level of quality. So far, my results have been as good as typical factory rifles in my hands, that is 1-2moa with a variety of loads is normal. Nevertheless, I would like to improve and refine what I'm doing.

Being limited in space and with the cost of shipping, I bought one of Grizzly's recent "South Bend" 8K model. A few selling points for barrel work were the 1 1/8" spindle bore and a minimum rpm of 45. As you can see from the pic, there's just enough space to chuck a barrel through the spindle and have room to work the breech end. It's tight but I can test fit an action with the reamer left in the tailstock holder. Unfortunately (or not?), it precludes any technique using centers or a steady rest so I'm trying to refine my through-the-spindle technique.

What I've been doing to setup a barrel is to chuck it in the four jaw chuck with a piece of aluminum wire between the jaws a barrel. Torqueing down the jaws flattens the wire to about a .200 wide contact point on each jaw. I would assume the single contact point minimizes tension on the length of the barrel. I then eyeball the muzzle end in the outboard spider with just finger tension on the screws. I then use a Gritter rod with the bushing located in the bore at the point of wire contact. Then, by spinning the chuck by hand, dial in that point to the best of my ability and equipment - which seems to be about .0005". That's also the best I'm able to get on the naked spindle nose so I'm not convinced the lathe is any more accurate.