THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM GUNSMITHING FORUM

Moderators: jeffeosso
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tig Welding rust spots Browning O/U bbls.
 Login/Join

posted
I am a retired machinist with most capabilities for my own gun interest. I am looking at restoring a Diana grade superposed that had salt wood and as a result has some shallow rust spots on the top bbl. about 3" from the breech. While I welded all my life, never learned to TIG as I have a lifelong friend still active in his machine shop business who is really good at it. Questions are, what should I do to the spots in preparation for the welding. Bbls. will be rust blued so what would be a good filler rod, and can I expect the spots to not show after the rust bluing assuming I do a good job of draw filing to blend in ect. Thanks, John Hancock

Posts: 11 | Location: Abilene, Texas | Registered: 25 November 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of The Shottist
posted Hide Post
Since the fill metal will not be an exact match of the welded metal, I doubt that you will get exact match of the bluing. I suggest that you call Browning and ask their techs/ engineers. I believe that most barrels are soldered, not welded.

If your hunting dog is fat, then you aren't getting enough exercise. Smiler

Posts: 598 | Location: currently N 34.41 W 111.54 | Registered: 10 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Have some engraving done over the spots that you fill in.

One of Us
Picture of kcstott
posted Hide Post
I've done a lot of work that was black oxide coated after welding. The best blend that I've found is ER70S2 or S6 depending on the base metal.
The latter being used for metal that is not or can not be prepped as well as it should.

As far as Prep work. Strip it down to bare metal. A metal acid primer prep works well just watch where it all goes Keep it away from the solder joints.