Notify
Tools

S&W Ejector Rod Issue
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Subject: S&W 629-4 / 4" / .44
Problem: Slightly bent ejector rod
Question: Can this problem effect grouping?

Although the cylinder locks in & out OK, the ejector can be seen to wobble (run-out) somewhat when rotating.

Notice the two fliers in the attached group pic, are 180 out. My thought here is that only two opposing cylinder chambers are affected by the bent rod pushing the cylinder up, then down.....

Lotta people say that if it locks in & releases OK - don't worry about it, but I've begun to wonder.

Is this a potential accuracy issue? Input appreciated - thanks in advance!

Regards - GCF
"Sometimes you make eight - Sometimes you hit dirt"

Posts: 287 | Location: Corpus Christi, TX | Registered: 01 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've been tinkering and working on smith & wesson revolvers for many years.
The center pin within the ejector rod is probably also bent.Although it's possible to straighten them,the usual result is a rod that is wavy rather than perfectly straight.It will be better to have a new rod and pin fitted properly.
Another concern is that whatever mishap that caused the bent rod in the first place may have also bent the yoke barrel out of alighnment.This needs to be checked.
The bottom line is this...Send it to smith & wesson.The cost will be minimal.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ray m:
I've been tinkering and working on smith & wesson revolvers for many years.
The center pin within the ejector rod is probably also bent.Although it's possible to straighten them,the usual result is a rod that is wavy rather than perfectly straight.It will be better to have a new rod and pin fitted properly.
Another concern is that whatever mishap that caused the bent rod in the first place may have also bent the yoke barrel out of alighnment.This needs to be checked.