Find
Notify
Tools

hFirelapping report
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted
This is NOT a generic endorsement of fire-lapping, just a report...

I have a Bushmaster AR-15 with heavy, fluted, chrome-lined, factory barrel that has never shot worth beans. Average groups have been closer to 3" than to 2", with the best factory match grade ammo ( premium grades of Federal, Black Hills, etc.).

I sent it back to Bushmaster and even with 3-shot groups, all they got was a 2"+ average for 3 groups. They seemed to think that was okay, and sent if back to me, unimproved.

I decided maybe the problem had something to do with the chrome-lined bore...roughness, a burr, whatever. As the barrel was generally junk for my purposes anyway (what the hell good is a .223 that shoots 2-1/2-to-3" groups at 100 yards?), I decided to try fire-lapping it.

I loaded 5 rounds with 52 grain bullets impregnated with NECO's "medium" grit fire-lapping paste; 8 bullets using their "fine" grade paste, and 10 rounds using the NECO "polishing" grade grit.

All bullets were loaded in Winchester cases, using WSR primers, and a moderate charge of VV-N133.

A "control" 5-round group was fired at the beginning of the fire-lapping session. True to form, it measured close to 3" center-to-center.

Then all the grit impregnated bullets were fired, starting with the medium grit and ending with the polishing grit bullets. The rifle action and barrel were cleaned throughly between each change in grit size.

As the firing progressed, each group shrank in size, significantly.

After the fire-lapping was complete, 15 shots of untreated bullets were fired, using the same charge weight and components. The 15-shot group size is almost exactly 1", with most of the shots clustered into one smaller hole.